My favourite Library in Santiago

Image

The interesting facade of the Santiago Library. The glass screens were probably added on later to block off the heat in a way. Walking over the open square in the afternoon is horribly hot.

I’ve been spending a lot of time at the Santiago Library (nearest Metro Station is Quinta Normal) attending art workshops.  I’m learning a lot about Kirigami (the art of cutting paper; not Origami, which is the art of folding paper) and Chirigami, a Japanese art where you create pictures with special paper and Nori gel.

ImageThe library consists of two large buildings, and I haven’t explored all the spaces yet, but what I’ve seen, I’ve loved.  My favourite space is the area where children’s books are kept.  There are beanbags on which you can lay and read!  The colourful tubes attached to the ceiling gives the place a playful atmosphere which is perfect for children!

Image

ImageIn the space there is a giant ball attached to the ceiling!  I love it that a public building incorporated these wacky ideas into the interior.  From a designer’s point of view, the detailing of the tubes and the ball isn’t done well, but it creates a fun place to read!

Image

Image

A staircase leads to the inside of the ball, where there is a space that looks like a type of theatre!

ImageThe Library really is a community centre where activities for different age groups are offered.  During my time spent in the library, I’ve seen old people sitting around and reading or people having meetings at tables, a man comes in once a week to take a nap in the corner it seems (he drools a lot), and there are many people working or using computers there.  I’ve been in horrible old fashioned libraries in the past, where you feel awkward to be there, because everything feels so outdated.  It makes me so happy to see that this library manages to offer people a place to spend time and appreciate books and reading.

One thought on “My favourite Library in Santiago

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

