Kuchen in Frutillar

I have heard three things about Frutillar: 1. It hosts an annual Jazz festival.  2. It’s a pretty German town with German architecture.  3. In Frutillar you will find the best kuchen in Chile!  ImageWhen I heard about the kuchen (German cake or desert), I knew that Frutillar was a place that I simply had to visit!  It is easy to reach Frutillar from (rainy) Puerto Montt, where we are currently staying.  A microbus leaves from the bus terminal to Frutillar every 8 minutes.  Frutilla (you pronounce the two l’s next to each other with a ‘j’ sound) means strawberry; I don’t know if the town is named after this fruit. ImageImageImage We spent less than two hours in Frutillar, and that was enough.  It is a pretty little town – actually all tourists come to see is the pretty little street right next to Lake Llanguihue.  I can imagine that the black sandy beaches are filled with sunbathers during summer time.ImageHere you can see the top of Volcano Osorno sticking out of the clouds:ImageImageWe saw interesting clouds hanging over our heads.ImageThere is an interesting theatre next to the Lake; I assume this is where the Jazz festival is held.  The building is clad in coloured veneered panels.ImageAccording to the reviews on Tripadvisor, Kuchenladen is the best place to eat kuchen, it’s located next to the church in the street (Avenida Phillipi) next to the lake.  ImageThe display of tortas made my mouth water!ImageDirk ate apple strudel and I chose a ‘mixed torta’ – it had caramel, meringue, chocolate, raspberries and cream in!  I have never tasted anything so delicious in my life!  The German desert in Frutillar really is fantastic and we were not disappointed.  Image

Leave a Reply

