A Library in Buenos Aires

We are in Buenos Aires, Argentina!  Today I explored the wealthy Recoleta neighbourhood.  My first stop was the National Library in Las Heras Ave.  When Dirk and I saw the building for the first time, he made the comment that it looks like some kind of space ship.  I have to agree.  The building is situated on the piece of land where President Peron lived with his wife, Eva.DSC_4876

I was walking around an taking pictures when the very friendly security guard informed me that I had to get a permission slip from inside the building to be able to take a lot of pictures of the building.  DSC_4809I like taking pictures of buildings and I have encountered many security guards who have asked me to stop taking pictures or to delete the pictures on my camera, in malls or outside banks or other public buildings.  I find it surprising that there are rules like that in place.  This is an era where people take pictures with their cellphones all the time!  Surely I don’t look like a criminal or someone who would use photos for evil deeds?DSC_4816

Most architects I know would be delighted by the fact that I took the time to stop and take a picture because I like the building they designed. DSC_4862

After I completed the necessary forms I was allowed to take as many pictures as I like.  This Brutalist building was opened in 1992 (it was designed in 1960) and it is the largest library in Argentina.  DSC_4842

Chile had a problem with stray dogs.  Here in Argentina they seem to have a problem with (fat) stray cats.  I spotted this cat strolling outside the library.DSC_4844

You know a building is well detailed when the staircase is a good space to be in.  I loved looking down… DSC_4821…and looking up on the this staircase.DSC_4822 DSC_4831 DSC_4833 DSC_4841DSC_4851 DSC_4857 The roofgardens provide a nice space to relax in.DSC_4858

Leave a Reply

