An abandoned Greenhouse in Parque Quinta Normal

ImageOn Friday I accidentally attended a fair for old people.  I was walking around in Parque Quinta Normal, saw all these erected tents and thought ‘I’ll go join in the fun!’  Only after I bought my ticket and entered the fair, I realised that I was the youngest person there.  Elderly people were all around me lining up to get their eyes tested, receiving massages and there were even some yoga lessons under the shade of trees.

Image

I was planning to get out of there as soon as possible, but then I spotted this incredible deserted structure and fell in love with the broken glass shards sticking out on the domed roof.  A greenhouse or conservatory is called an ‘Invernadero’ in Spanish.

Image

I was unable to enter the structure, but got cool pictures of the inside by sticking my camera through the railings.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Leave a comment